BYC Off to Mozambique

MONROVIA, Montserrado – The Liberia Football Association’s first division defending champion, Barrack Young Controller, has departed the country for Mozambique to honor their CAF Champions League clash with Mozambican club Clube Ferroviaro de Beira.

The team departed Liberia on Wednesday, March 8, via Roberts International Airport and arrived in Mozambique on Thursday, March 9. Along the way to Mozambique, they transited through Sierra Leone, Ghana, Zambia, and Zimbabwe on their way to compete in the first leg of the first round qualifiers.

Last month, the Go Blue Boys advanced to the first round of qualification after eliminating top Malian club, Stade Malien de Bamako. BYC won the first leg 1-0 at the Antoinette Tubman Stadium and bowed to a 1-0 defeat away before booking a going through on a 7-6 penalty shootout win while their counterpart, Ferroviaro de Beira qualified after a 4-3 aggregate win over Tanzanian side, Zimamoto  Football Club.

To enter the group stage of the competition, BYC will have to pass the Mozambican side that has a wide range of experience in CAF competitions. BYC’s participation this year is their third while their opponent is participating in their fifth competition since their establishment in 1924.

The first leg is scheduled for Sunday, March 12 at the Estadio do Ferroviaro and BYC needs a draw or a win away from home to stand a better chance ahead of the return leg.

Unlike BYC’s recent trip to Mali where they traveled with a 39-man delegation, they flew to the East African nation with a 28-man delegation headed by Keitu Smith.

Full List of Delegates:

  1. Keitu Smith – Head of Delegation
  2. Sekou Konneh – Club President
  3. Thomas Kojo – Director of Football
  4. Prince Sumo – Vice President of finance
  5. Cooper Sannah – Head Coaach
  6. Anthony Awi – Trainer
  7. Ben Beysolow Perry – Goalkeeper trainer
  8. Melvin Jerry – Team Doctor
  9. Albert E. Sarweah – Administrative Manager
  10. Christopher Walker – Journalist


  1. Allengton Sembeh
  2. Morris Tarr
  3. Prince Jetoh
  4. David Tweh
  5. Sporo Somah
  6. Hilton Varney
  7. Mark Paye
  8. Gideon Williams
  9. Kemoh Kamara
  10. James Kpoto
  11. Can-Dave Harmon
  12. Randy Dukuly
  13. Abdullah Yaya Bility
  14. Sylvanus Nimely
  15. Koffa Dougbeh
  16. Prince Kennedy
  17. Solomon Yahweh
  18. Prince Saydee

 Featured photo by T. Kla Wesley

T Kla Wesley Jr.

T. Kla Wesley Jr. is a member of the Sports Writers Association of Liberia.

The Bush Chicken is a young operation and we need your support to keep bringing you great content. Please support us.

Monthly   Yearly   One time

Gold Level Supporter—$250/year
Silver Level Supporter—$100/year
Bronze Level Supporter—$50/year
Or pick your own amount: $/year
Gold Level Supporter—$250
Silver Level Supporter—$100
Bronze Level Supporter—$50
Or pick your own amount: $
Contributions to The Bush Chicken are not tax deductible.

Related posts