LFA Releases List of Nominees for 2019 Football Awards

MONROVIA, Montserrado – The Liberia Football Association has announced the names of nominees for its 2019 Liberia Football Awards.

The LFA disclosed that the award ceremony will take place at the Samuel Kanyon Doe Sports Complex on Friday, October 18.

A list of 48 individuals in six categories was released by the football house. The categories include the most valuable player, best goalkeeper, best defender, best referee, and best league reporter. A three-man shortlist was also revealed for each category, in the first and second football divisions, women’s football, referees, and the best journalist.

In the first division categories, LISCR Football Club and LPRC Oilers led the list of nominees with each team being represented by four players.

The Shipping Boys are represented by Sam Jackson and Christopher Jackson in the most valuable player category, Tommy Songo in the best goalkeeper category, and Tapha Manneh in the best coach category. Meanwhile, the LPRC Oilers are represented by Cooper Sannah as one of the three coaches nominated for the best coach award, Prince Wlame in the goalkeeping category, and Sampson Dweh and Alvin Maccornel in the best defender award category.

Full list of nominees for First Division:

Category Nominees Club
Most Valuable Player Christopher Jackson LISCR
Varney Dukuly Nimba United
Sam Jackson LISCRF
Best Defender Sampson Dweh LPRC Oilers
Ben Benaiah Nimba United
Alvin Maccornel LPRC Oilers
Best Goalkeeper Prince Wlame LPRC Oilers
Tommy Songo LISCR
Alpha Jalloh BYC-1
Best Coach Cooper Sannah LPRC Oilers
Tapha Manneh LISCR
Robert Lartey BYC-1
Best Referee Jerry Yekeh
Hassan Corneh
George Roger


Christopher Jackson returned to Liberia from Belarus with a sharp form in front of goal, scoring 17 goals in 21 games to finish as joint top scorer with Varney Dukuly, who was also nominated for the most valuable player award.

Jackson’s teammate, Sam Jackson, pulled out brilliant performances in the league, registering 15 assists and scoring 6 goals to help LISCR Football Club finish second behind champions, LPRC Oilers FC.

Meanwhile, Prince Wlame remains the favorite for the best goalkeeper award after keeping 14 clean sheets to help LPRC Oilers win the league title.

Full list of nominees for Second Division:

Category Nominee Club
Most Valuable Player Christian Doe BYC- 2
Jestino Jackson BYC-2
Mark Yallah Muscat
Best Defender Karleo Anderson Bea Mountain
Daniel Paye Bea Mountain
Josephus Mantor Nimba Kwado
Best Goalkeeper Rueben King Nimba Kwado
Morlik Keta BYC-2
Allington Sembeh Bea Mountain
Best Coach Moutarr Fofana BYC-2
Kyeatu Smith Bea Mountain
Kollie Korvy Nimba Kwado
Best Referee Slyvina Garnett
Jerry Yekeh
Mohammed Bah

The second division was led by champions Barrack Young Controller II and newly promoted first division side, FC Bea Mountain. The second division league top goal scorer, Jestino Jackson, was nominated for the league’s Most Valuable Player award along with teammate, Christian Doe, and Mark Yallah of Muscat Football Club.

The teams’ coaches, Moutarr Fofana and Ketu Smith, were also nominated for the best coach award, along with Kollie Korvah of Nimba Kwado.

According to the football association, more than L$1 million (US$4,808) will be given as cash price during the award ceremony to individuals.

About 80 percent of the votes determined the nominees and was decided by the clubs’ captains, coaches, and the Sports Writers Association of Liberia.

The public will vote for the remaining 20 percent by texting, the details of which will be provided later.

Women’s Football:

Category Nominee Club
Most Valuable Player Angeline Kieh Earth Angels
Agatha Nimene Blanco
Love Koffa Blanco
Best Defender Jestina Wilson Earth Angels
Rashiditu Kamara Earth Angels
Margaret Steward Senior Professionals
Best Goalkeeper Massa Konneh Earth Angels
Komassa Sumo Hippo FC
Lorpu Forkpa World Girls
Best Coach Jenkins Doe Earth Angels
Emmanuel Beakie Determine Girls
Amelia Washington Senior Professionals
Best Referee Slyvina Garnett
Mohammed Bah
Krubo Gboluma

The three nominees for the Leagues’ reporter award are Anthony Kokoi of KMTV and the Liberian Observer, Augustus Audekina-Doe of Joy FM and Focus Newspaper, and Garysen Diah who writes for the Liberian Sports Online.

Featured photo courtesy of T Kla Wesley Jr.

T Kla Wesley Jr.

T. Kla Wesley Jr. is a member of the Sports Writers Association of Liberia.

The Bush Chicken is a young operation and we need your support to keep bringing you great content. Please support us.

Monthly   Yearly   One time

Gold Level Supporter—$250/year
Silver Level Supporter—$100/year
Bronze Level Supporter—$50/year
Or pick your own amount: $/year
Gold Level Supporter—$250
Silver Level Supporter—$100
Bronze Level Supporter—$50
Or pick your own amount: $
Contributions to The Bush Chicken are not tax deductible.

Related posts