Lone Star Arrives in Senegal

The Liberia national football team has arrived in Dakar, Senegal for the return leg of the 2020 CHAN qualifiers preliminary round.

Lone Star departed the country on Wednesday, July 30 to honor the fixture against their West African counterparts.

A 33-man delegation headed by Liberia Football Association executive committee member Henry Flomo departed the country via the Roberts International Airport. The delegation includes Deputy Sports Minister Audrian Smith-Forbes, Assistant Sports Minister James Toe, NPA Sports Association President Austin Dennis, Fifa-badged referee Hassan Corneh, and LFA communications director Danesius Marteh.

Also part of the delegation are members of the Lone Star technical team comprising of head coach Thomas Kojo, deputy coach Samuel Chebli, trainer George Gebro, goalkeeping coach Eric Glassco, physiotherapist Boakai Abu Kamara, masseur Sampson Zoegbeh, and kitmen Tommy Johnson and Daniel Hodge.

Already in Senegal was the national team administrative manager Sebastian Collins, who left Liberia immediately after Sunday’s 1-0 victory to secure an ideal accommodation and other match-related activities ahead of the arrival of the delegation.

Unlike the recent friendly match away at Equatorial Guinea, where the Lone Star travelled with 18 players, 19 players were included in the trip to Senegal. LISCR Football Club’s goalkeeper Tommy Songo, who had no part to play in the first leg win, made the list of players called for the return leg.

The team departed with three goalkeepers, five defenders, eight midfielders, and three strikers.

Full squad;

Goalkeepers: Prince Wlame (LPRC Oilers), Tommy Songo (LISCR FC) and Alpha Jalloh (BYC)

Defenders: Alvin Maccornel and Nuwo Johnson (LPRC Oilers); Daniel Woto and Prince Jetoh (BYC); Kemoh Kamara (LISCR FC)

Midfielders: Armah Vaikainah, Sam Jackson and Edward Ledlum (LISCR FC); Isaac Pupo (Watanga FC), Abdulai Yaya Bility (BYC), Farsedu Logan (Watanga), Ebenezer Solo (LPRC Oilers) and Marvin Blapoh (Monrovia Club Breweries)

Forwards: Christopher Jackson (LISCR FC), Varney Dukuly (Nimba United) and Terry Sackor (LPRC Oilers)

Featured photo by T. Kla Wesley Jr.

T Kla Wesley Jr.

T. Kla Wesley Jr. is a member of the Sports Writers Association of Liberia.

The Bush Chicken is a young operation and we need your support to keep bringing you great content. Please support us.

Monthly   Yearly   One time

Gold Level Supporter—$250/year
Silver Level Supporter—$100/year
Bronze Level Supporter—$50/year
Or pick your own amount: $/year
Gold Level Supporter—$250
Silver Level Supporter—$100
Bronze Level Supporter—$50
Or pick your own amount: $
Contributions to The Bush Chicken are not tax deductible.

Related posts