President Cup Tournament Starts Today

MONROVIA, Montserrado – A pre-season tournament organized by the Liberia Football Association, the President’s Cup, is expected to kick off today at the Antoinette Tubman Stadium, with 20 teams set to participate.

The tournament involves the top eight teams from the first division, the top five from the second division, the three newly promoted second division clubs, and the top four from the women’s division.

From the selection of teams, 16 teams will participate in the male category of the competition while the female category will consist of the four teams. The tournament will be played on a knockout basis.

Clubs participating in the male category are first division champions LPRC Oilers, runner-up LISCR FC, Watanga FC, Nimba United, Small Town, Monrovia Club Breweries, NPA Anchors, and Nimba FC.

Second division champions BYC-II, runner-up Bea Mountain, Gardnersville FC, Freeport FC, and Nimba Kwado will represent the second division while third division championship playoff champions Sandi FC, runner-up Almighty FC, and Stages FC complete the list of male clubs participating in the tournament.

Each participating team will receive US$250 for the first round, teams going into the quarterfinals will receive US$300, there will be US$400 for teams that’ll make the semi-finals, and US$500 for the grand-final.

The champions in the male category will walk away with a trophy plus US$2,500, while US$1,500 and a trophy will be awarded to the champions of the female category. Runner-ups in both categories will be decorated with silver medals.

The draw for the tournament has been made with some entertaining pairings. Second division side Gardnersville FC will play against Bea Mountain at midday in the first game while newly-promoted first division side Nimba Kwado will meet Small Town at 1:45 p.m. In the last game today, first division defending champions LPRC Oilers will battle newly-promoted second division side Stages FC at 3:45 p.m.

The tournament will continue on October 24 with first division side Nimba FC playing newly-promoted second division side Sandi FC at noon, the 2019 FA Cup and ‘Who Owns The Land’ champions LISCR FC will take on newly-promoted Freeport FC at 1:45 p.m., while Monrovia Club Breweries will battle NPA Anchors at 3:45 p.m.

On October 28, the female category will begin, with Senior Professionals and FA Cup runners-up Blanco FC at midday before Watanga FC will face Nimba FC at 1:45 p.m. Second division champions Barrack Young Controllers II and newly promoted side Almighty FC will play the final game of the day at 3:45 p.m.

The President Cup’s first round will end on October 24 with the women’s league and FA Cup champions Earth Angels playing against the ‘Who Owns The Land’ female champions, Determine Girls.

All games will be played at the Antoinette Tubman Stadium in Monrovia.

Featured photo by T Kla Wesley Jr.

T Kla Wesley Jr.

T. Kla Wesley Jr. is a member of the Sports Writers Association of Liberia.

The Bush Chicken is a young operation and we need your support to keep bringing you great content. Please support us.

Monthly   Yearly   One time

Gold Level Supporter—$250/year
Silver Level Supporter—$100/year
Bronze Level Supporter—$50/year
Or pick your own amount: $/year
Gold Level Supporter—$250
Silver Level Supporter—$100
Bronze Level Supporter—$50
Or pick your own amount: $
Contributions to The Bush Chicken are not tax deductible.

Related posts