Thomas Kojo Names 25 Provisional Players for Zimbabwe Clash

MONROVIA, Montserrado – Head Coach Thomas Kojo has released his provisionally listing of players for the Lone Star’s crucial encounter against Zimbabwe on Sunday, November 18.

Kojo made a 25-man list that is expected to help him grab his second win since his appointment in July 2018. The list includes 16 home-based players and 9 foreign-based players.

Adolphus Marshall of Maltese first division side, Gudja United, is missing from Kojo’s list. Of the home-based players named in the 25-man provisional list, LISCR FC dominates with eight players followed by the LPRC Oilers with three and 2018 first division and FA Cup Champions, Barrack Young Controllers FC with two. Watanga Football Club, NPA Anchors, and Nimba United complete the list with one player each.

Despite not being used in the 3-1 defeat away at Congo, Spanish based goalkeeper Boison Wynney again made the list of foreign players, which includes captain William Jebor, Anthony Laffor, Sam Johnson, Murphy Oscar Dorley, Kpah Sherman, Tonia Tisdell, Sylvanus Nimely, and Joel Johnson.

Meanwhile, Newcastle United’s U-23 midfielder Mohammed Sangare is expected to later join the list of foreign players after receiving his residence permit from the British government. The administrative manager of the Lone Star, Sebastian Collins, confirmed to The Bush Chicken that Sangare wasn’t included because his residence permit hadn’t yet been given.

Liberia is currently sitting third in Group G of the CAF 2019 African Cup of Nations qualifiers with four points from four games and will need a win against group leaders’ Zimbabwe to keep alive their hope of qualifying for the Cameroon 2019 African Cup of Nations.

The match on November 18 will be the third meeting between the two countries. Liberia has drawn one and lost two, including the first leg, which resulted in a 3-0 result for Zimbabwe on June 11, 2017, in Harare.

The full list of players invited:

No Player Names Position Clubs Countries
1 Boison Wynney de Souza Goalkeeper Mallorca B Spain
2 Ashley Williams Goalkeeper LISCR FC Liberia
3 Tommy Songo Goalkeeper LISCR FC Liberia
4 Joel Johnson Defender Charlotte Independence USA
5 Kemoh Kamara Defender LISCR FC Liberia
6 Alvin Maccornel Defender LPRC Oilers Liberia
7 Aloysius Simujla Defender LPRC Oilers Liberia
8 Ben Beniah Defender Nimba United Liberia
9 Boakai Morlu Defender NPA Anchors Liberia
10 Nuwo Johnson Defender LPRC Oilers Liberia
11 Teah Dennis Defender BYC FC Liberia
12 Murphy Oscar Dorley Midfielder Slovan Liberec Czech Republic
13 David Tweh Midfielder BYC FC Liberia
14 Allen Njie Midfielder LISCR FC Liberia
15 Tonia Tisdell Midfielder Denizlispor Turkey
16 Terrence Tisdell Midfielder AD Sanjoanense Portugal
17 Sylvanus Nimely Midfielder Spartak Moscow Russia
18 Anthony Laffor Midfielder Mamelodi Sundowns South Africa
19 Saah Nyumah Midfielder LISCR FC Liberia
20 Sam Jackson Forward LISCR FC Liberia
21 Edward Ledlum Forward LISCR FC Liberia
22 Sam Johnson Forward Valerenga Norway
23 Kpah Sherman Forward MISC-MIFA Malaysia
24 William Jebor Forward Wydad Casablanca Morocco
25 Chauncy Freeman Forward Watanga FC Liberia



Featured photo by T. Kla Wesley Jr.

T Kla Wesley Jr.

T. Kla Wesley Jr. is a member of the Sports Writers Association of Liberia.

The Bush Chicken is a young operation and we need your support to keep bringing you great content. Please support us.

Monthly   Yearly   One time

Gold Level Supporter—$250/year
Silver Level Supporter—$100/year
Bronze Level Supporter—$50/year
Or pick your own amount: $/year
Gold Level Supporter—$250
Silver Level Supporter—$100
Bronze Level Supporter—$50
Or pick your own amount: $
Contributions to The Bush Chicken are not tax deductible.

Related posts