Lone Star Departs for Friendly in Egypt

MONROVIA, Montserrado – Lone Star’s football team has departed for an upcoming international friendly with Egypt.

Head Coach Peter Butler has named a 19-man squad for the international friendly against the African giants, to be played on Thursday, November 7.

The list of players officially released by the Liberia Football Association includes nine LISCR Football Club players, four players from LPRC Oilers, two players from Nimba United Football Club, and one each from Pags Football Club, Monrovia Club Breweries, FC Bea Mountain, and Barrack Young Controllers.

Notable players in Butler’s squad are the 2019 Liberia Football Association first division most valuable player Christopher Jackson, Liberia’s world cup hero Ashley Williams, Sam Jackson of LISCR FC, and Nimba United’s Varney Dukuly, who finished as the joint top scorer in the 2019 Liberia Football Association first division.

The team leaves Liberia on Tuesday, November 5 with a 30-man delegation headed by executive committee member, Henry Flomo. The delegation also includes seven technical staff members, including Assistant Coach Christopher Wreh, physical trainer George Gebro, goalkeeping coach Sunday Seah, administrative manager Sebastian Collins, kitman Tommy Johnson, masseur Sampson Zoegbeh, journalist Naneka Hoffman of Kool FM, Liberia Football Association technical director Henry Browne, and Joseph Dickson from the Ministry of Youth and Sports.

Egypt will host Liberia at the 86,000-seater Borg El Arab Stadium, Africa’s second-largest stadium.

Both countries will be hoping to get their third victory against each other. Their previous four meetings have seen Liberia gain two victories over Egypt while conceding seven goals in two defeats away from home.

Egypt got a 2-0 win over Liberia on January 6, 1989, before grabbing a 1-0 win in Monrovia on June 25, 1989. Liberia’s second visit to Egypt ended with a 5-0 defeat on August 17, 1997, following a 1-0 win in Monrovia on April 6, 1997.

Full list of players:

Goalkeeper: Ashley Williams and Tommy Songo (LISCR FC)

Defenders: Jeremy Saygbe and Benjamin Doe (LISCR FC); Ben Benaiah (Nimba United), Alvin Maccornel (LPRC Oilers), Daniel Paye (Bea Mountain) and Gasimu Kouyateh (Pags FC)

Midfielders: Sam Jackson, Edward Ledlum, Marlon Harrison and Armah Vaikainah (LISCR FC); Ebenezer Solo and Varney Sando (LPRC Oilers); Marvin Blapoh (Monrovia Club Breweries), Rufus Padmore (Barrack Young Controllers-II),

Strikers: Christopher Jackson (LISCR FC), Varney Dukuly (Nimba United) and Augustine Otu (LPRC Oilers)

Featured photo by T Kla Wesley Jr.

T Kla Wesley Jr.

T. Kla Wesley Jr. is a member of the Sports Writers Association of Liberia.

The Bush Chicken is a young operation and we need your support to keep bringing you great content. Please support us.

Monthly   Yearly   One time

Gold Level Supporter—$250/year
Silver Level Supporter—$100/year
Bronze Level Supporter—$50/year
Or pick your own amount: $/year
Gold Level Supporter—$250
Silver Level Supporter—$100
Bronze Level Supporter—$50
Or pick your own amount: $
Contributions to The Bush Chicken are not tax deductible.

Related posts