President Weah Makes 29 New Appointments in Government

MONROVIA, Montserrado – President George Weah has made 29 new appointments in government. The appointments according to the executive mansion take effect as of Friday, when the names of the newly appointed officials were released.

Those appointed include Dean Julius Sawolo Nelson as president of the University of Liberia; Edwin Juah, assistant minister for European Affairs at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Esiaka Sheriff, assistant minister for research, planning, and development at the Ministry of Agriculture; and George Gontor and William Thompson, II, deputy minister for energy, and assistant minister for energy, respectively.

Ministry/ institution Appointee Position
Ministry of Foreign Affairs Edwin Juah Asst. Minister for European Affairs
Ministry of Internal Affairs Esiaka Sheriff Asst. Minister for Research, Planning & Development
Ministry of Mines and Energy George Gontor Deputy Minister for Energy
Ministry of Agriculture William T. Thompson II Assist. Minister for Energy
Ministry of National Defense Tarplah Davis Deputy Minister for Operations
Ministry of Post & Telecom. Varney Okai Deputy Minister for Operations
Ministry of Public Works Macarthur Hilton Assit. Minister for Rural Development
Civil Law Court J. Kennedy Peabody Resident Judge, 6th Judicial Circuit Court
Liberia Embassy in Washington DC Al Jerome Chede Minister Counselor for Press
Liberia Ant-Corruption Comm. Nbuduis Nwabudike Chair
Kanio Bai Gbala Vice Chairperson
Charles Gibson Commissioner
LIBTELCO Board George Howe Member
Chicago Broght Member
Alexander Zoe Member
Civil Service Agency Teetee Pailey Deputy Director General for Adm.
Rural Renewable Energy Joseph T. Williams Executive Director
Liberia Agency for Comm. Emp. Mariama M. Koon Deputy Executive Director
Liberia Medicine & Health Products Regulatory Authority Keturah Chupee Smith Executive Director
Center for National Documents and Record Agency ( CNDRA) Emmanuel Lomax Director General
National Food Assistance Agency C. Neileh Daitauoh Director
National Housing Authority Henry Clarke Depurt Managing Director for Oper.
Mittal Operating Company Gonsahn Matardy Board Member (Gov’t representative)
Liberia Electricity Corporation Charles Gibson Board member
National Oil Company of Liberia Richard B. Devine Board Chairman
Liberia Petroleum Refinery Company Rnadolph Cooper Board Chairman
University of Liberia Julius Sawolo Nelson President


Earlier, Weah appointed Edwin Harris as Director-General of the Financial Intelligence Unit to replace outgoing Director-General Alex Cuffy, whose tenure expired two months ago.

Harris’ appointment is still pending confirmation from the senate, as it is required by law.

According to the Executive Mansion, Harris holds a Master’s degree in Public Administration from Northeastern University in Boston, Massachusetts, U.S.A. and brings more than eight years of progressive work experience in the regulatory agency, anti-corruption, and anti-money laundering consultancy.

“He has skills and broad knowledge in policy formulation, research and other anti-corruption strategies from the public and private sectors. He also has vast knowledge and understanding of the Patriot Act, European Union Directives, U.K. Bribery Act and other international protocols on anti-money laundering and countering terrorist financing,” the executive mansion said in a release.

The release also revealed that the president is confident that the new Financial Intelligence Unit director general’s institutional knowledge as lead consultant of the unit between 2012 and 2014, coupled with his education and “impeccable experience,” will play a vital role in advancing the principles of the institution.

Featured photo by Gbatemah Senah

Gbatemah Senah

Senah is a graduate of the University of Liberia and a recipient of the Jonathan P. Hicks Scholarship for Mass Communications. Between 2017 and 2019, he won six excellent reporting awards from the Press Union of Liberia. They include a three-time Land Rights Reporter of the Year, one time Women's Rights Reporter of the Year, Legislative Reporter of the Year, and Human Rights Reporter of the Year.

The Bush Chicken is a young operation and we need your support to keep bringing you great content. Please support us.

Monthly   Yearly   One time

Gold Level Supporter—$250/year
Silver Level Supporter—$100/year
Bronze Level Supporter—$50/year
Or pick your own amount: $/year
Gold Level Supporter—$250
Silver Level Supporter—$100
Bronze Level Supporter—$50
Or pick your own amount: $
Contributions to The Bush Chicken are not tax deductible.

Related posts